Recently, the New Jersey Legislature passed, and Governor Christie signed, a law that imposes more severe penalties for a death caused by DUI.
The law is referred to as “Ralph and David’s Law,” in honor of two victims who died as a result of car accidents caused by drunk drivers. The law creates a new criminal offense known as “Strict Liability Vehicular Homicide,” which would apply to cases where a drunk driver kills another person. This new offense is a third degree crime, punishable by a New Jersey State Prison term ranging from 3 to 5 years, as well as a fine of up to $15,000. Unlike most third degree crimes, this crime would not have a presumption of non-incarceration for first-time offenders, so incarceration upon conviction is likely.
The law is in response to cases where people were killed by drunk drivers; however the State could not meet the burden to convict under the aggravated manslaughter or vehicular homicide statutes.
I have over 25 years experience handling DUI/DWI cases.Even is someone is not killed or seriously injured. a DUI is a serious offense. If you, a family member, or friend is charged with a DUI, call my office for a free consultation.
All the Best!
Randy C. Redden